The Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines (IPO) recently released the Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) for the Philippine Technology Transfer Act of 2009.

Signed into law on March 23, the Technology Transfer Act  which took effect May 8 this year grants Intellectual Property ownership to research and development institutions that conduct research and development (R&D) using public funds. This paves the way for scientists to benefit from the results of public-funded researches. It allows scientists, state universities and colleges, and research institutions to profit from research funded by taxpayers.


The Philippine Council for Advanced Science and Technology Research and Development  (PCASTRD) of the Department of Science and Technology awarded winners in the 2009 PCASTRD Outstanding Thesis and Dissertation Awards in Advanced S&T on Dec. 18, 2009 at the HOtel Intercontinental in Makati City.

Clinching the awards in the dissertation category are Proceso L. Fernandez, Jr. of the Ateneo de Manila University for “On the complexities of the block sorting and Poset cover problems” (Computer Science and IT) and Gay Jane P. Perez of the University of the Philippines Diliman for “Understanding the dynamics of unassisted group egress” (Physics).  Advisers are Dr. John Paul C. Vergara and Dr. Caesar A. Saloma, respectively. Fernandez and Perez received a plaque and P75,000 each while their advisers received P25,000 each. Meanwhile, all finalists received P25,000 each.